Skip to main content
Skip to main content.

System Maintenance:

The Court's technology systems will be undergoing maintenance the evening of Thursday, October 20th from 5pm - 10pm PST. Please expect all systems to be unavailable during this time. 

Court Reporter Transcripts

Court Reporters

The Court Reporters are Certified Shorthand Reporters licensed by the State of California, and are a part of the Court Support Division of the Superior Court of California, County of Tuolumne. 

As required by statute and assigned, they provide a verbatim record of courtroom proceedings, and their duties include the preparation of written transcripts, and read-back of testimony during court proceedings and to jurors during deliberations.

  1. All parties shall deposit their pro rata share of court reporter fees with the clerk of the court on the beginning of the first and each succeeding day court session.  Court reporter fees shall be due and payable from the beginning of hearing or trial. "Beginning" is defined as the moment the matter is assigned to the trial court and the judicial official calls the action for trial or hearing. Unless the court orders otherwise for good cause, a half day fee shall be charged for any matter which lasts more than one hour. A full day fee shall be charged for any matter lasting more than four hours. Court reporter fees are collectable in any civil case which includes all matters other than criminal and juvenile cases.
  2. Court Reporter fees must be deposited at the civil division, new courthouse, first floor, 12855 Justice Center Drive, Sonora, CA, together with a completed Request for Court Reporter form. For mailing, send to the Superior Court of California, County of Tuolumne, Attention: Civil Division, 12855 Justice Center Drive, Sonora, CA, 95370, for the estimated length prior to hearing or trial.
  3. For any hearing estimated to last more than one hour, each party shall deposit their pro-rata share of $200.00, or for any hearing estimated to last more than four hours, each party shall deposit their pro-rata share of $400.00 Per Government Code Sec. 68086(a)(3) and Rule 890, one-half day means any period of judicial time during either the morning or afternoon court session.
  4. Pursuant to Government Code 68086, this is a mandated court reporter per diem fee.
  5. If, for whatever reason (fee waiver/governmental agency) one side is not required to post fees, the other side(s) shall still be responsible for their pro rata share.
  6. ANY DELAY IN PAYMENT OR DEVIATION FROM ABOVE PROCEDURES SHALL IMMEDIATELY BE REFERRED TO THE TRIAL JUDGE FOR RESOLUTION.

If you wish to order a transcript, please call (209) 533-6672, or complete a Request for Preparation of Transcript TUO-CS-125 , and submit it by mail or hand delivery to: Superior Court of California, County of Tuolumne, Request for Transcript – Court Support Division, 12855 Justice Center Drive, Sonora, CA 95370.

Your request must include the name of the case, the exact date of the hearing, and the judge who presided over the hearing.  This information is available in the court file.  You should also include your address and/or telephone number so the responsible court reporter can contact you with a time and cost estimate.

Was this helpful?